October 25, 2015

Michael Pendry’s Les Colombes

Join us for the first exhibition on the East Coast of Les Colombes, by artist Michael Pendry, to be presented at The Episcopal Church of the Heavenly Rest, April 12 through August 18, free to the public at 1085 Fifth Ave.

Did you miss the Les Colombes opening April 11? Come and see the Light & Sound Performances coming up. Please note: there will be no performances during Holy Week except for Easter Sunday from 6pm-7pm. Full schedule below:

Week One Week Two
Tuesday, April 23, 5-6

Wednesday, April 24, 5-6

Thursday, April 25, 5-6

Friday, April 26, 5-6

Saturday, April 27, 6-7

Sunday, April 28, 6-7

Tuesday, April 30, 5-6

Thursday, May 2, 5-6

Saturday, May 4, 6-7

Sunday, May 5, 6-7

Week Three Week Four
Tuesday, May 7, 5-6

Wednesday, May 8, 5-6

Thursday, May 9, 5-6

Friday, May 10, 5-6

Saturday, May 11, 6-7

Sunday, May 12, 6-7

Tuesday, May 14, 5-6

Wednesday, May 15, 4-5

Saturday, May 18, 12-4

Sunday, May 19, 6-7

In addition to the origami doves soaring over the nave, the installation will feature a contemplative light and sound show for the first month of installation. The public is invited to create the doves and to write their thoughts on the folded doves, specifically related to their ideas on what the theme of “release” means to them—release from burdens, pain, addiction or any other adversity each individual would like to overcome.
Hudson Link for Higher Education in Prison is a partner in the installation, drawing attention to the issue of mass incarceration in our country, and what “release” means to the individuals in prison or newly released. In addition to “release,” the white doves carry messages of peace, resilience and hope in our troubled times.
Sean Pica, Executive Director of Hudson Link stated “we are thrilled to be involved in the Les Colombes Exhibit alongside our long time Alumni Services Ministry partner, Church of the Heavenly Rest. CHR’s re-entry support has been invaluable to us over the years and this latest opportunity is the most exciting yet. Having our alumni and their families fold the doves and write what release means to them was a powerful experience. And we are sure that witnessing the actual completed exhibit will be profoundly moving.”
Since 2007, Les Colombes have been travelling around the globe, from Jerusalem to Munich, Salisbury and London and most recently Grace Cathedral in San Francisco.

For more information, email Lucas Thorpe at lthorpe@heavenlyrest.org


Second Annual Heavenly Lights Art Show: We All Belong
Second Annual Heavenly Lights Art Show: We All Belong. The exhibition includes works from artists across the city and in a variety of styles and media.
Exhibition through September 6, 2019. Viewing times, Weekdays 12-5 pm, and 8-2 pm on Sundays.

© Copyright - The Episcopal Church of Heavenly Rest | new york web development

Need a Prayer

PSALM 51
Open my lips, O Lord,
and my mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.

Cast me not away from your presence
and take not your holy Spirit from me.

Give me the joy of your saving help again
and sustain me with your bountiful Spirit.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.